The Unbreakable Tour: A Night That Will Never Be Forgotten

When the Unbreakable Tour was announced, I jumped on the opportunity to see Parkway Drive. Though I have a long history of shows behind me, I had not once had the pleasure and absolute honor to see them live. That being said, I had high hopes going into this show on October 16th. And, allow me to begin by saying the performances put on by Parkway Drive, We Came as Romans, Counterparts, and San Antonio’s own Covina exceeded my expectations.

Counterparts, coined the “really nice Canadians” by the drunk guy screaming behind me the majority of the time they played, blew me away. I had heard a few of their songs, but had never really gotten “into” them, but after this show, I went home and Googled them immediately. These guys know how to put on an amazing show, even in a short amount of time. When vocalist, Brendan “B” Murphy, guitarists, Adrian Lee and Blake Hardman, and bassist, Brian Kaczmarczyk walked offstage, I was left upset and wished they’d come on for one or two more songs when they completed their set.

However, my sadness didn’t last too long because after their set came the only band on the tour I had seen before: We Came as Romans. Now, if you haven’t seen WCAR perform, I pity you because these guys are nonstop energy and entertainment. There was not a second of their set in which they weren’t moving, jumping, or hyping up the crowd in some way. They played so many of the songs that I know and love, including “To Plant a Seed” and “Hope,” and I did not stop singing along until the lights went out and they walked offstage. Guitarist Joshua Moore, bassist Andy Glass, drummer Eric Choi, guitarist Lou Cotton, and vocalists David Stephens and Kyle Pavone know how to put on one hell of a show.

Now, the main event is what truly took my breath away. Parkway Drive, a metalcore band hailing from Australia, has a fan base like no other. The moment We Came as Romans’ gear was cleared off the stage, the whole room erupted in cheers and chants for the hallowed “PARKWAY DRIVE, PARKWAY DRIVE, PARKWAY DRIVE.” The band did not take long to satiate these cries, as they came out about twenty minutes later playing “Crushed,” and hyping the crowd up even more. As a fan of the band, it was hard for me to take photos and not sing along, and in the end, I was left screaming with the crowd as I shot my final pictures.   Vocalist, Winston McCall, guitarists, Jeff Ling and Luke Kilpatrick, bassist, Jia O’Connor, and drummer, Ben Gordon know how to put on a show nobody will ever forget. Much to the fans’ delight, “especially the dudes in the pit,” as McCall put it, PWD played “Boneyards” and got the whole room shaking. I know for a fact my heart was pounding the whole time I watched the band perform. With their smoke cannons and intricate lighting, Parkway Drive owned the stage and owned the minds and hearts of everyone in the GA crowd, from the people in the pit to the mothers and their daughters, to your little, pig-tailed photographer shooting photos near the stage and in the balcony.

This was truly an unforgettable show for me.

-Rini Christina

For more photos, please visit: https://www.facebook.com/rinicphotography/ 

20161016_225352.jpg

Leave a Reply

