Rest in Peace Glenn Frey

“There’s . . .Heartache Tonight, I know.”

glenn_frey

What a terrible way to start the year for music fans. I was about to turn off my computer, when I came across this shocking post on the Eagles Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/EaglesBand/posts/1200240780005485

“There’s a Hole in the World”

https://youtu.be/WD3cnivUVXc

How I wish the news came from “Lyin’ Eyes.” Unfortunately, it is true, yet another musical legend has left us.  The Eagles founding member, guitarist, songwriter, and singer, Glenn Frey, passed away today. He was 67 years old. The post from the Eagles page said that Frey died from “complications from Rheumatoid Arthritis, Acute Ulcerative Colitis and Pneumonia.” I am saddened by this news. The Eagles are one of my favorite bands. In fact, I never met anyone that said they didn’t like them! I grew up in the 70s and 80s listening to their music and loved it all. I think it is safe to say that everyone has a favorite Eagles song.  Who hasn’t been to an event where the crowd was singing along to “Hotel California,” “Desperado,” “Take it Easy” or any number of Eagles classics?  Don Henley and Glenn Frey’s song lyrics are poetic genius; true works of art.

I got to cross something off my “bucket list”

Since they disbanded in the 80s, I never thought I’d get to see the Eagles perform live in my lifetime, but on September 8, 2008, my dream came true.  I was blessed to get tickets from one of my bosses to see them at the AT&T Center here in San Antonio. I took my,then 9 year-old, daughter with me.  There was not one song that we didn’t sing along to. We were up on our feet the entire time. (This was back when I could stand more than 10 minutes!) It was a surreal experience to be able to enjoy music from my childhood icons with my daughter. It is still one of the best concert memories we share. In fact, just last week, when we picked-up our tickets to the upcoming Pat Benatar rodeo concert (my Christmas present) we talked about how fantastic that show was. Music has always been a big part of our routine.  I’ve taken her to many concerts, but this one made a huge impression on her back then because they have so many hits, that the concert, as I recall, was over two hours long!  Also, on our way to the concert, she said she didn’t know who the Eagles were, but she recognized almost all of the songs in the set list. Each song sounded almost identical to the versions recorded some 20-30 years earlier; their voices were just as crisp. To me, it is the epitome of musical talent when artists sound just as good or even better, live in-concert, as they do on their studio recordings.

“Part of Me, Part of You”

This post seems to be more about the Eagles, than Glenn Frey, but let’s face it, as a co-founder, one of the lead singers and songwriters, Glenn Frey is a huge part of the Eagles and the Eagles are a huge part of Glenn Frey.  I imagine the band will continue to tour without him, since they were in the middle of their “History of the Eagles” tour when they took a break because of Glenn’s illness.  I think it would be an awesome tribute to him to continue, but they can never replace Glenn Frey.

Soundtrack to Our Lives

During Glenn’s solo career in the 80s, “The Heat Is On” was one of his biggest hits.  It is one of the songs on the soundtrack of “Beverly Hills Cop,” the story of a Detroit Cop (Eddie Murphy) that winds up in Beverly Hills. Coincidentally, Glenn Frey was born in Detroit on November 6, 1948. His song, “Part of Me, Part of You,” is also on the soundtrack for the movie, “Thelma & Louise.” His voice was soft yet powerful, with just the right amount of “rasp,” making his songs perfect to use in movies and really, perfect music for life’s many occasions.  Since reading the news of his passing, I’ve seen so many Twitter posts by celebrities, one that stands out, and I think most would agree with, was from Melissa Gilbert, she wrote, “Rest well Glenn Frey. So grateful for the soundtrack you gave my life. . .” I couldn’t put it better, he did give our lives a soundtrack!

David Bowie, There’s “A New Kid in Town”

Glenn joins so many great artists in Heaven tonight.  Rest in Peace Glenn, your music will live on forever.  You have the best of our love. – BMT

Leave a Reply

