Review – Shades of Blue – American Drama Series on NBC

shades of blue screenShades-of-Blue Pilot Screening at Santikos Palladium

shades of blue rini and I

Partners-in-Crime #shadesofblue

I was lucky to attend a screening, hosted by Hot 104.5, of the pilot for “Shades of Blue,” the new NBC Drama starring Jennifer Lopez and Ray Liotta with my partner-in-crime, my daughter! The producers provided free popcorn and drinks, a cool pair of blue shades and posters and a drawing ticket for a free flat screen TV to everyone in attendance. Some VIP attendees received free T-shirts as well.  I was not lucky enough to hold on to the winning ticket for the TV, but I did have the ticket in my hand.  I was tasked with passing tickets down the row to all those that posted their photos to social media using #shadesofblue and the winner was two seats away from me.  How do you know which ticket to keep for yourself and which to pass on?  I digress. . .

Shady Beginning

Ever since seeing the previews months ago, I’ve been (not so) patiently waiting to see this show.  JLo playing a police detective with Ray Liotta in a drama by executive producers Ryan Seacrest and Barry Levinson, who wouldn’t be excited?  How can you go wrong? Sometimes when the anticipation for a show or movie is so intense, when I finally get to see it, I tend to be disappointed. This show started out making me wonder if it was not going to be as good as I thought. I wasn’t sure it would hold my attention or if I’d want to add it to my DVR line-up along with “Law & Order SVU” and “Castle.” However, about 5 minutes in, perhaps after the first commercial break once it airs on TV, I was intrigued.  In the last minute I, along with everyone else in the room, was hooked by the heart-racing cliff hanger. Yes, it seems Shades of Blue will leave you wondering all week, “what will happen on the next episode?” It’s not your typical police drama where a crime is committed in the beginning of the episode and the detectives solve the crime and put away the bad guy by the end.

Shady Detectives

JLo plays Harlee Santos, a single mother working hard to be the best detective and parent, while struggling to keep her daughter in private school. Ray Liotta plays Matt Wozniak, her mentor, support system, and the leader of an underground extortion/money-laudering operation, which he believes is for “the greater good.” Detective Santos is being forced to work with the FBI.  As a single parent, I totally understand that sometimes the wrong choices seem right at the time because everything we do is with the best interests of our child(ren) in mind.

Shades of Blue is about the brotherhood of police officers, loyalty, family, selfishness, greed, and betrayal.  As one preview states, “even good cops do bad things.”

How everything unfolds is of course, the plot for this, not to be missed, show.  I think JLo’s performance is fantastic and the other actors do a great job as well.

See the official trailer – http://www.nbc.com/shades-of-blue/video/shades-of-blue-official-trailer/2932307

Shades-of-Blue Pilot Airs Thursday, January 7, 2016 on NBC at 10/9 p.m. Central

 

Watch it, and tell me what you think.  Post your comments below or on the Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/ReviewsoftheArtsSA   – BMT

6 comments

  1. The Trophy WifeStyle · January 7, 2016

    Oooooo Shades of Blue looks like it’s going to be a goodie!!!! I will have to check out the pilot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristine Foley (@thefoleyfam) · January 8, 2016

    Totally intrigued by this series, I’ll def be tuning in! Thanks for sharing the info!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Reviews of the Arts SA · January 9, 2016

      Thanks Kristine, I’m glad you found it as good as I did. I can’t wait to see how she’s going to keep the secret from Ray Liotta’s character!

      Like

  3. Monica Bruno · January 9, 2016

    Great review, Beth! I love the way to take us with you to the screening. I felt your disappointment when you were just *this* close to holding the winning ticket. It sounds like Shades of Blue might turn out to be a good series. I probably would not have stopped to watch it, but your review makes me reconsider. Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

