Review – “Scouts Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse” Directed by Christopher Landon

Well, I didn’t go into the theater expecting much from this movie and, for me, it delivered just that – not much! I’m not into the zombie craze and I really can’t stand unnecessary gore in movies, so I may not be the right person to critique this movie.  However, since the movie studio provided me with the screening pass, it’s my duty to provide you with my opinion.  Based on the title, the poster, and what little advertisement I saw, it sounded like it would be funny, so I accepted the challenge.

It started out cute. The Paramount Pictures introduction logo was made into a scout patch. Then the movie opens with a young janitor mopping the floors in the desolate hallway of a science building.  He’s got headphones on and he’s jamming to Iggy Azalea’s, “Black Widow.”  It’s not long before he encounters a zombie and the movie goes downhill from there.  If there wasn’t so much disgusting, gushing blood with every zombie encounter, the movie could have been considered a straight comedy.  In many ways, it was hysterical.  There were several scenes that had the audience shrieking with laughter because many of the lines and situations were actually funny, not to mention that the whole concept of zombies is so stupid, that it’s funny.

Some people can see the humor in the horror scenes because we all know that we are watching fiction, but once I saw all that blood, I immediately wanted to leave. It was as if we were ping-pong balls being hit between comedy and tragedy.  No sooner than were we engaged in laughter, the director, Christopher Landon, rapidly and frequently brought us back into terror mode.  Actually, Christopher Landon deserves praise, because being able to create a roller coaster of emotions within the audience is really the art of cinema!  We couldn’t expect anything less from the son of master producer/director – the late, great, Michael Landon.  The problem though, is that those parts were so upsetting to us, after an hour into it, my daughter and I finally left the movie.  

Though it is a rated “R” movie, the “Scouts Guide” in the title may have been misleading and a poor choice of words because several people brought their young children – somewhere between the ages of three and ten.  I personally do not recommend this movie for children under the age of 13 because young children may have nightmares after seeing it.  Heck, I’m staying up to write this review because I was so scared, I’m afraid I may not be able to fall sleep tonight!  My daughter wanted to leave because she said she didn’t like that feeling of suspense when someone comes up from behind and scares the daylights out of people.

In short, if you just want to laugh, or if you have stress anxiety and/or post-traumatic stress disorder, I do not recommend this movie.  However, since it opens Halloween weekend, if you enjoy having the pants scared off you, get your tickets now, “Scouts Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse” opens October 30, 2015!  – BMT  

http://www.scoutsandzombiesmovie.com/

One comment

  1. Monica Bruno · October 29, 2015

    What a great review, Beth! I will stay clear away from this movie. It doesn’t sound like my cup of tea 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

