Arlo Guthrie: In Retrospect

On February 26th I sat among many, many excited people within The Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, who were just as lucky as I was to be graced by the music and the presence of a genius, Arlo Guthrie. One of his most famous lines is “You can get anything you want at Alice’s Restaurant,” and, on that very album’s 50th Anniversary tour, I got something I had only dreamed about, a chance speak to him personally. Although Arlo doesn’t do formal “meet and greets,” I was privileged enough to meet him and I am so glad I did. To be honest, I expected him to be in a hurry to say “Hi,” and then get out of town. That was not the case, I discovered that he is one of the funniest people in the world, even in one-on-one settings. As I stood there crying, because i was meeting a musical legend, he just laughed and said “Stop crying I’m not that great,” signed my Alice’s Restaurant album with a heart, and gave me the biggest hug I’ve ever received. Arlo Guthrie is a genius, a comic, and an absolutely amazing, sweet human being, and after seeing him live (and meeting him), I feel I can die happy. But I’ll keep breathing because “I don’t want to die, I just want to ride my motorcy…cle,” into the next amazing opportunity this life brings to me.- RCT

1512309_833972653335095_1832348458652768053_n

Leave a Reply

